Macon County IL
  Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.

  

Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.

 

Current Conditions
for Decatur, IL

Temperature: 59 F

Relative Humidity: 46%

Dewpoint: 38 F

Wind: From the ESE at 7 MPH

Today's percipitation: 0.00 in (0.0 mm)

Clear


Detailed Forecast for Decatur

Vital Records

How do I order a birth certificate?

Birth certificates can be ordered directly from the County Clerk by either coming into the office or filling out the form found on our downloads page. To locate the Birth Record Request form on our downloads page, click on the County Clerk link on the left-hand column and locate the file "birthrecordrequest.pdf".

For your convenience, you can process online requests through an independent company that Macon County Clerk has partnered with to provide you this service; VitalChek Network, Inc. VitalChek can be reached through their website; here. An additional fee is charged by VitalChek for this service, and all major credit cards are accepted, including American Express®, Discover®. MasterCard® or Visa®.

How do I obtain a marriage license?

Instructions for Obtaining a Marriage License in the County of Macon

Where to Apply:
Online
http://il.macon.accessliberty.com/mcu.aspx

In Person
Office of Stephen M. Bean
Macon County Clerk 
141 S. Main St., Room 104 
Decatur, IL 62523 

When to Apply: 
Both parties MUST appear in person at the County Clerk’s Office to apply for a marriage license. Persons obtaining a marriage license in Macon County MAY NOT use the license in any other county. The license must be obtained at least one (1) day prior to the date the couple plans to be married. The license is void sixty (60) days after the effective date. The bride and groom must also bring one form of photo identification. Some examples of acceptable photo identification: Drivers License, State ID, or work ID. 

Persons Who May Not Marry: 
Blood relatives, down to and including first cousins, MAY NOT marry under the laws of the State of Illinois. 

Fees
The fee for a marriage license is $75.

Medical Examinations:
No examination or blood test is required in the State of Illinois.

Qualifications for Residents of the State of Illinois Age Requirements:
In order to be married in the Illinois without parental consent, you MUST be at least 18 years of age. If you are 16 or 17 years of age, BOTH PARENTS OR GUARDIANS must sign a parental consent form, in the County Clerk’s Office at the time you apply for the license. If it is not possible for your parents to sign in this office, it may be done before the County Clerk of the county in which the parent lives. 

Qualifications for Non-Residents:
Non-residents CANNOT obtain a marriage license if the said marriage would be void in their state or country. 

Return of License:
The license must be returned to the County Clerk’s Office by the officiant of the ceremony within TEN DAYS after the date of marriage.

Marriage by a Judge:
If you wish to be married by a Judge, you may make your own arrangements prior to the ceremony. The Judges marriage schedules are as follows:

  • Monday – Judge Little: 4:00 p.m. – 424-1437
  • Thursday – Judge Coryell: 4:00 p.m. – 424-1440
  • Friday – Judge Diamond: 11:00 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. – 424-1484

There is a $10.00 Court Fee required when being married by a Judge. The fee is paid in the Circuit Clerk’s Office at 253 E. Wood, on the first floor. The fee should be paid on or before the date of the wedding, with proof of the payment shown before the ceremony.

Obtaining a Certified Copy:
A copy of your marriage license, issued in Macon County may be obtained from the County Clerk’s Office. The fee is $22.00 for one certified copy, and $9.00 for each additional copy of the same certificate. You may request a copy in person or by mail, by sending a letter with the full names and date of marriage. Include a copy of a photo ID of one of the parties and a self-addressed, stamped envelope for return of the document. The fee by mail must be paid by a money order made out to the Macon County Clerk. You may address your request to: 

Macon County Clerk
141 S. Main St., Room 104 
Decatur, IL 62523 

Telephone Numbers: (217) 424-1305 or (217) 424-1307 

Office Hours:
Monday through Friday – 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

How do I obtain a civil union license?

Instructions for Obtaining a Civil Union License in the County of Macon

Where to Apply:
Office of Stephen M. Bean
Macon County Clerk
141 S. Main St., Room 104
Decatur, IL 62523

When to Apply:
Both parties MUST appear in person at the County Clerk's Office to apply for a license.

Persons obtaining a license in Macon County MAY NOT use the license in any other county. The license must be obtained at least one (1) day prior to the date of the ceremony. The license is void sixty (60) days after the effective date. Both parties must also bring one form of photo identification. Some examples of acceptable photo identification: Drivers License, State ID, or work ID.

Persons who may not be united by Civil Union:
Blood relatives, down to and including first cousins, MAY NOT be joined by civil union under the laws of the State of Illinois.

Fees
The fee for a civil union license is $75.

Age Requirements:
Two people can enter into a civil union, providing they are 18 years of age.

Medical Examinations:
No examination or blood test is required in the State of Illinois.

Qualifications for Non-Residents:
Non-residents CANNOT obtain a marriage license if the said marriage would be void in their state our country.

Return of Civil Union License:
The license must be returned to the County Clerk's Office by the officiant of the ceremony within TEN DAYS after the date of civil union.

Civil Union Ceremony by a Judge:
If you wish to be united by a Judge, you may make your own arrangements prior to the ceremony. The Judges' schedules are as follows:

Monday - Judge LIttle: 4 p.m. - 424-1437
Wednesday - Judge Griffith: 4 p.m. - 424-1438
Friday - Judge R.C. Bollinger: 11 a.m. - 424-1467

There is a $10.00 Court Fee required when being united by a Judge. The fee is paid in the Circuit Clerk's Office at 253 E. Wood, on the first floor. The fee should be paid on or before the date of the ceremony, with proof of the payment shown before the ceremony.

Obtaining a Certified Copy:
A copy of your civil union license, issued in Macon County may be obtained from the County Clerk's Office. The fee is $22.00 for one certified copy, and $9.00 for each additional copy of the same certificate. You may request a copy in person or by mail, by sending a letter with the full names and ate of the ceremony. Include a copy of a photo ID of one of the parties and a self-addressed, stamped envelope for return of the document. The fee by mail must be paid by a money order made out to the Macon County Clerk. You may address your request to:

Macon County Clerk
141 S. Main St., Room 104
Decatur, IL 62523
Telephone Numbers: (217) 424-1305 or (217) 424-1307

Office Hours:
Monday through Friday - 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

How can I become an election judge?

The qualifications necessary to be an election judge are:

  • be a registered voter
  • be of good repute and character
  • be able to read and write the English language
  • not be a candidate for any office in the election
  • not be a precinct committeeman
  • high school seniors may serve as election judges under a special program

At each polling place,there are judges assigned from each of the major political parties.

They are responsible for the administration of the election procedures and ensure that only qualified persons are permitted to vote. They give assistance to voters when requested.

Individuals must attend an election judge training. Macon County pays election judges $150.00 for working an election.

If anyone is interested in serving as an election judge, please call 424-1305 or 424-1307.

How do I obtain an assumed business name or DBA?

The procedure for filing a certificate of Assumed Business Name is as follows:

  • Fill out the PDF form* which includes: the type of business to be conducted, business name, business address (Not a P.O.Box,must be a physical location) and the names and home addresses of the persons doing business. The persons doing business must sign (not print) their names in the middle of the form, above the section to be filled out by a notary. These signatures must be notarized.
  • Return the form to the Clerk's Office.
  • The Clerk's Office will issue you a certificate to take to any newspaper in Macon County which as a legal notice section. The notice must be published once a week for three consecutive weeks,first publication must appear within 15 days from the date the certificate is filed.
  • The cost of filing is $42.00. The publication costs with newspapers vary.
  • Upon receiving proof of publication form from the newspaper, we will send you a certificate of Ownership of Business.

*To locate the Assumed Name Certificate of Intention form on our downloads page, click on the County Clerk link on the left-hand column and locate the file "assumednameweb.pdf".

 

Visitors | Links | Calendar | Departments | Financial Reports | Vital Records
CODERED | Looking for Lincoln | Search | Site Map | Home

© 2010-2014 Macon County, Illinois. All Rights Reserved.
Website designed & hosted by Kestrel Website Design.