Highway Department

The Highway Department is responsible for constructing and maintaining the County Highway system. This includes paving and sealing existing pavements, performing drainage work along and underneath our roadways, and constructing and maintaining bridges and culverts on our roads. We also work with the townships in constructing larger projects, especially bridges. In the winter we plow and de-ice the roads on the County Highway system.

We issue permits for work on our Right-of-Way and for overweight and oversize vehicles. We also maintain vehicles in our fleet as well as the vehicles from other county departments.

Credit card payment for permit fees and more may be made at www.govpaynow.com.

Free county maps are available at the Highway Department or to download.

Highway Department Contacts

Bruce Bird, P.E.
County Engineer
bbird@highway.co.macon.il.us

Kathy Gerhold
Office Manager
kgerhold@highway.co.macon.il.us

Stuart Jacobs
Road Supervisor
sjacobs@highway.co.macon.il.us

Allison Willis
Engineer Technician
awillis@highway.co.macon.il.us

Grant Davis
Engineer Technician
gdavis@highway.co.macon.il.us

Joe Moretti, P.E.
Assistant County Engineer
jmoretti@highway.co.macon.il.us

Amanda Askew
Office Assistant
aaskew@highway.co.macon.il.us

Matt Rigg
Shop Supervisor
mrigg@highway.co.macon.il.us

Bruce Taylor
Engineer Technician
btaylor@highway.co.macon.il.us

FOIA Requests

Requests for information and public records under FOIA for the Macon County Highway can be made in writing, subject to fees, to:

Macon County Highway FOIA Officer
Bruce Bird
2405 N. Woodford St.
Decatur, IL 62526
Phone 217-424-1404
Fax 217-424-2516
Email: bbird@highway.co.macon.il.us

FOIA Request Form

Highway Department Downloads

Title
Beltway Alignment Map
 1 file(s)
October 13, 2017
Highway FOIA Request Form
 1 file(s)
July 26, 2016
General Truck Permit
 1 file(s)
May 4, 2015
ADA Transition Plan
 1 file(s)
January 13, 2015
2015 Macon County Highway Department Capital Construction Plan
 1 file(s)
August 15, 2014
Macon County Beltway Environmental Assessment
 1 file(s)
July 24, 2013
Utility Permit Policy
 1 file(s)
February 10, 2012
Macon County Region Map
 1 file(s)
February 10, 2012
Macon County Map
 1 file(s)
February 10, 2012
Access Permit Application
 1 file(s)
February 10, 2012
Access Control Permit Policy
 1 file(s)
February 10, 2012